The antithesis of a shadow

I want to live transparently. 

12The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light. 13Let us behave decently, as in the daytime, not in orgies and drunkenness, not in sexual immorality and debauchery, not in dissension and jealousy. 14Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the sinful nature.   -Romans 13:12-14

The family of my friend who passed away in a car accident two weeks ago on Tuesday has his password and has been on his facebook. They posted something he had written and saved as a draft on his computer, and it got me thinking; what would people see when they look at what I have written? What kind of message am I leaving this world? 

I’m only a couple decades into this life, but who knows? As Paul says, the night is nearly over, so we should be ready for the sunlight of eternity. I don’t want to live hypocritically; I want to be able to own up to what has happened in my past, and credit where I am now entirely to God. He has made it so clear that we are supposed to share with each other in order to let His Works be known for His glory! 

What I’m saying when I say “I want to live transparently” is that I don’t want any shadows in my life- people should be able to see Christ’s light through me. As the chorus of the praise song “Center” states, “we lift our eyes to heaven, we wrap our lives around yours, be the center of our lives, be the place we fix our eyes.” I love that; the idea of wrapping my life around God’s Life. The concept of literally clothing myself with Christ, so that when people look at me, they see all the good that comes directly from the Lord.

Leave a Reply

