Good-bye

Washed away with the waves
Salty tears to the sea
I gave back the gift
That was given to me.

Toes anchored in the sand
Hair whipped from the face
Eyes squint, follow the path
‘Til it leaves no trace

Sweet relief like the tide
Crashes down on my heart
A bittersweet end
To an unintended start.

Like the beat of the surf
Is my pulse slowing down
I’m not fighting the tide
I’m not going to drown.

I inhale the salty scent
As I sit on the beach
I enjoy where I am,
not what’s out of reach.

Leave a Reply

