My family makes me look normal and/or boring…

First of all, I have to make sure you know that I absolutely love my family. They are funny, sweet, rambunctious, and perhaps a little eccentric, but…. they are my family. Nothing will ever change that or my love for them.

That being said, I was on my way home yesterday when my 15 year old brother, Michael, called me up.

“Oh hi Rach- um just so you know, there might not be anyone home when you get there, but whatever you do, don’t open the fridge. Just don’t don’t do it. seriously.”

me: “I won’t be home ’til later later but what’s wrong with the fridge? Is there something bad in it?”

“no, the door will fall off.”

Needless to say, it was an interesting visit home. Apparently, the repairmen can’t come for a couple of weeks, so our fridge door is only functional for about four inches before it falls off rather suddenly. I’m pretty sure it’s somehow missing the bottom bolt.

To add to the enchantment of the evening, I got to hang out with my friend Stephanie from high school. We’ve both been busy living life, going to school, etc., but it was great just to hang out and enjoy catching up with one another. We tried this amazing norwegian cheese called gjetost on crackers, had fresh fruit and water, and then resolved to repair the fridge.

Armed with a sparse toolbox and parts and our imagination, we endeavored to make the door to nevermore fall on the floor. Yes, the Poe reference should be ominous, because it didn’t work. We tried for over an hour, eventually calling it quits, but not admitting defeat. It was comparable to life- sometimes the process is is long and seemingly fruitless, but life isn’t always about just the end product or goal. It’s about the people and the situations that draw us closer to each other, and closer to eternity.

One thought on “My family makes me look normal and/or boring…

  1. “It was comparable to life- sometimes the process is is long and seemingly fruitless, but life isn’t always about just the end product or goal. It’s about the people and the situations that draw us closer to each other, and closer to eternity.”

    I so needed to hear that. Thank you. 🙂

    Sorry to hear the door still falls off though…at least you tried…

    ~Liz

Leave a Reply

