Just to make you smile…

I’d do so very much.

For your entertainment, some random poetry produced in class while my prof. lectured about Walt Whitman and Emily Dickinson…

9/3/09
How can one say
they understand
On any given day?
Or take the children by the hand,
A light to shine the way?

“I disagree, I must confess,
with your portrait of the prayer.”
Yet silent I keep while you profess,
a bottled energy of care.

9/8/09
How poor the pen transcribed by we
Who grew immersed in poetry.
How foul the flow that leads the hearse
To the funeral of the metered verse.
Is it better to botch a classic theme
With modern words or broken phoneme?
Or is it worse to watch and wait-
The offense of those who hesitate.

I realize these aren’t that great, but I enjoy jotting down thoughts amidst my notes. Ah, classic literature. I am truly a book nerd 🙂 In other news, I am excited for small group this year! Jenny and I have a genuine group of girls I am really looking forward to growing with! I finished Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers, and have a draft of a book review saved. I’ll try to get it done soon… would love to hear any thoughts on it.

Going to leave you with two of my favorite Emily Dickinson poems.
1263
There is no Frigate like a Book
To take us Lands away
Nor any Coursers like a Page
Of prancing Poetry-
This traverse may the poorest take
Without oppress of Toll-
How frugal is the Chariot
That bears the Human Soul.

1540
As imperceptibly as Grief
The Summer lapsed away –
Too imperceptible at last
To seem like Perfidy –
A Quietness distilled
As Twilight long begun,
Or Nature spending with herself
Sequestered Afternoon –
The Dusk drew earlier in –
The Morning foreign shone —
A courteous, yet harrowing Grace,
As Guest, that would be gone –
And thus, without a Wing
Or service of a Keel
Our Summer made her light escape
Into the Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

