This is for me.

I used to do a lot more of these, and I feel the need to return. God has been working on my heart lately. It’s been a bit of a rough patch for me, coming to terms with my pride and these hidden motives that cloud my vision. I know that holiness is possible, but only through God. I know that I have kept some legalistic pride… and that is what has been broken down. I am obliterated from what I was. I have nothing to brag about. I take pride in nothing except this: that Christ is perfect.

I am a cracked and broken vessel, miraculously holding Living Water as though I am whole. I am not yet, but it is promised. I have nothing. I am given everything.

I even look at what I’m saying and see echoes of what the apostles had to say. Not that I’m anywhere near their caliber, but I feel as though I get what they’re saying a little better.

7To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
2 Cor. 12:7-10

11And do this, understanding the present time. The hour has come for you to wake up from your slumber, because our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed. 12The night is nearly over; the day is almost here. So let us put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light. 13Let us behave decently, as in the daytime, not in orgies and drunkenness, not in sexual immorality and debauchery, not in dissension and jealousy. 14Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the sinful nature.[c]
Romans 13:11-14

1How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him. 2Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when he appears,[a]we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. 3Everyone who has this hope in him purifies himself, just as he is pure.
1John 3:1-3

There’s a lot more but I have class.
Dive into the Bible. See what you find. It overwhelms me.
Isaiah 53

One thought on “This is for me.

  1. Consider it pure joy, my sister, when you face trials of many kinds because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverence. Perseverence must finish its works, so that you may be mature and complete no lacking anything. If you lack wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. James 1:2-5

    I have recently been motivated to memorize the book of James, and it seemed fitting response after reading your blog.

    Your trip is coming quickly and maybe there is something God is wanting to teach you, or he is preparing for you to learn while away.

    I’ve been praying for you, and God keeps reminding me to pray for you, so it seems as if he has something quite important for you to gain from your trial and journey.

    Let me know if there is anything I can do for you or specifically pray for.

    In Him, Josh

Leave a Reply

