Dreaming, impatience, and salvation from unknown peril… thus is my life :)

I took a nap today and dreamed he had come back. He was smiling and everything was all right.
Have I ever told you that my dreams aren’t pleasant? Actually, I’m beginning to wonder if satan sometimes tries to use dreams for his gain. I used to have nightmares all the time as a child, and I used to pray that God would take them away or I wouldn’t remember them and that worked. Anyone have any insight on that one? Anyway, that’s a random tangent.

The deal is, I’m impatient. I also sometimes fail to do what I know is right in the name of being agreeable or submitting. That’s not submitting, it’s just plain sinning. My heart lies with God’s and I need to act that way more often. It is really scary to see what I substitute God for in my life sometimes. I can be so intent on what’s seen rather than unseen (cue memory verse for the week, 2 Corinthians 4:18, “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal”). What I am so thankful for is when I am saved from a bad situation, sometimes even without knowing it.

It reminds me of when I was little. My daddy played softball on the church league, and my family often went to watch. I was going from one end of the fields to the other, I was maybe 6 or 7 years old, when suddenly one of the men of our church just came at me yelling and I had no idea what it was about. He ran straight at me, picked me up, and set me on the sidelines. I was crying, scared, confused, and hurt. I had no idea what was going on, and it seemed so violent, so sudden to me. It turns out I had been walking right into the back of another game I didn’t realize was going on, and one of the men of our church had seen me and wanted to get me out of harm’s way as soon as possible so I wouldn’t get hit with a softball. Although this may have been an extreme reaction, it was done out of care, consideration for my well-being, and awareness of a dangerous situation that I did not possess.

I think God does this for us a lot. Although we may not be able to fully comprehend the reasons, or see the danger, we can trust that He has it together and is paying attention for our well-being. It may seem unpleasant or scary at the time, but it means He cares. I love that.

Well, it’s time to honor God by doing my homework. Now. lol I have my homework at my res. hall’s superbowl party. Yay for interesting commercials for once! Have a great week!

~Rachel

Leave a Reply

