Would You Forgive Me?

In striving to live transparently, meaning living without anything to hide, I sometimes hit the roadblock of human nature and fear. I grew up knowing that no matter what I do, God loves me and sent His Son to cover all the sins in my life. I accepted that God is perfect, and therefore does not hold anything against us because He is just, and Christ’s payment in death as the only person who never sinned is exponentially more than my sin. I get that, and don’t have a problem with telling God, who already knows everything, how I have struggled to do His Will.

When it comes down to it, my issue is fear. I fear man’s judgement, despite knowing that my identity and honor are in Christ alone. I fear friends looking at me as someone who doesn’t have it all together. I fear rejection. I fear never being loved because I have so greatly failed to follow God. I fear not being good enough for anyone.
However, that’s just it; they’re fears, and they aren’t from God.

We cannot let our fear overtake our lives.
“18Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth. 19This then is how we know that we belong to the truth, and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence 20whenever our hearts condemn us. For God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything. 21Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God 22and receive from him anything we ask, because we obey his commands and do what pleases him.”

“This then is how we know that we belong to the truth.”
Have you ever done something so inconsistent with your character and the kind of person you are striving to be that it makes you question how valid your faith can be? I have. Satan loves to try and tell us that we can be pulled away from God or that our relationship with Him can never be repaired, when in fact we can always call on the Lord for help and forgiveness. What can separate us from God? Nothing (Romans 8:38-39).

Therefore, we shouldn’t be afraid. God’s love is greater than anything, and He will provide a way, even when it seems hopeless to us.
“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.” 1 John 4:18
If we are living in God’s perfect love, we can go forth confidently in God’s power- not in our own strength (2 Cor. 12:9).

“Remember not the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you are good, O LORD. Good and upright is the LORD; therefore he instructs sinners in his ways. He guides the humble in what is right and teaches them his way.” ~Psalm 25:7-9

Just something to think about. Have a great spring break everyone!

Leave a Reply

