Summer ’10 Begins!

I’m home- well at the library for internet. Here is a really abbreviated version of some thoughts I’ve had lately.

Sunday message was over Ephesians 4:25-32 I think. Basically the idea that slander comes from bitterness of heart which is a result of a perceived wrong… we aren’t supposed to have those perceived wrongs. It is definitely biblical to call someone out when you’ve been wronged, but I don’t think that means we should react that way to everything. Proverbs 10 covered this topic beautifully today: “Hatred stirs up dissension,
but love covers over all wrongs.” that was verse 12 and then He who conceals his hatred has lying lips,
and whoever spreads slander is a fool.

19 When words are many, sin is not absent,
but he who holds his tongue is wise.

20 The tongue of the righteous is choice silver,
but the heart of the wicked is of little value.

21 The lips of the righteous nourish many,
but fools die for lack of judgment.

Today I was very convicted about my words and the heart attitude I have towards others at times. These weren’t even all of the verses aimed at this topic in the chapter. Verse 17 pretty much reminded me what I should be going for: He who heeds discipline shows the way to life, but whoever ignores correction leads others astray.

God has given me a gift for being persuasive at times, and also for leadership in general. It’s a responsibility to others I can’t ignore. It reminds me of when i was little. My parents always reminded me that my actions affect others, and I can only be responsible for my own actions, not anyone else’s. The same is even more true now. I love my parents. I love that they stuck to their guns about teaching me what was right despite my stubbornness.

Had a dress fitting today, helped the bride pick out shoes and a veil, met her fiance, and now I’m at the library for internet. Claire and camping trip tomorrow!!!

much love,
Rachel

Leave a Reply

