Because I was given a gift…

of having ok hair when I woke up this morning so I didn’t have to shower, I opted to stay awake (I had already made my bed) and spend some time with God. I about fell asleep during devotions last night, despite the fact that Ezekiel looks very interesting so far. This morning, however, I went back to 1 Corinthians. For the New Testament, I read through Acts and Romans this summer, and it gave me a much greater perspective on Paul’s ministry.

Here’s the verse that got me thinking this fine morning.

“For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel- not with words of human wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.” 1 Corinthians 1:17

Context: People in Corinth were arguing about who had been baptized by whom, and which early church leader they followed. It’s like arguing about Bible covers and missing the point that the Bible is the holy, inspired, Word of God. Or little kids squabbling over whose doughnut is better, despite the fact that they all have doughnuts (and should eat them lol).

Paul says he was called by Christ to preach the gospel. It’s a good claim for someone who has spent many years doing just that, but he says “not with words of human wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.”

Wait a minute, you’re telling me human wisdom doesn’t cut it? I can’t argue someone into knowing God? I can’t wrap my mind around it? No way 🙂

I’ve been reading a lot of “Christian” literature lately (an oxymoron if you think about Christians following anything other than the Bible), and there are a lot of good arguments for knowing God, but what strikes me is that although there are good arguments made, knowing God is unlike any other thing in academia, let alone the world.

It isn’t something you can grasp by knowing just with your head, but with your heart and soul, with all your strength. “Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts.” Deuteronomy 6:4-6

Love God by loving people. Love people by proclaiming God’s love. Don’t worry about your wit; if Christianity was something only smart or talented people could grasp, you and I would not know God 🙂

It’s by grace. That’s why I don’t want to put the focus on me, but on what He has done.

Leave a Reply

