Prayer

Do we even really know what prayer is?

How often do groups of Christians pray almost flippantly, as though the throne of God is a place to fulfill a grocery list of wants/needs, or a complain-about-life fest?

Why do I sometimes mumble prayers to God or half leave Him in my thoughts while I think about the rest of my day?

Today I got to pray with internationals. Family group is awesome. We already had one answered prayer- Brad and Tara’s adoption application was accepted so they can begin the process of international adoption from China! How exciting!

But what really caught me was how carefully we presented prayer, made a list so everyone could see what we were talking about on paper, and joined to ask our Father to take the things that burden our hearts and minds. We thanked Him for who He is, and for all He has to show us. It was incredibly poignant. I can’t even describe it.

I could go on about everything, but I just want to put this out there instead: If we have God’s attention, and the grace to be in His presence and tell Him everything… what is our attitude toward prayer?

Leave a Reply

