Minor Practicum Update

First of all, I LOVE IT!

Second of all, I got to read out loud to part of the class today. They are sophomores studying The Pearl by John Steinbeck. When given the option to leave the room and be read to, or to read by themselves, most wanted to read by themselves…. that is, until they found out I was reading and my gracious host teacher talked me up. About half of them wandered down the hall with me.

I began reading chapter four, and in the back of the room was this shaggy haired kid just grinning idiotically. I wasn’t sure what was going on, but I ignored it and practiced my super-teacher classroom management skills by walking around the room a little bit when some students were chatting with each other or not paying attention. It went really well, and I had fun!

Afterwards, I was straightening chairs when I came across a couple tiny post-its used for marking books. One said “creep!” One was crumpled. Me being me, my insatiable curiosity got the best of me and I uncrumpled it.

“I bet I can make her laugh.”

Uh-huh. Nice try, sophomore boy, nice try.
Rachel: 1 Troublemakers: 0

Leave a Reply

