There Will Be Another…

time in your life when you are happier/less happy than you are now. There will be new friends to brighten the horizon, new songs to sing in your head and heart, days when you are sad and days that you feel like Christmas.

I’ve come to realize that the landscapes around us change. People, places, locations, situations all shift like sand, and we move with them, but God keeps track.

“You have searched me, LORD,
and you know me.
2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
4 Before a word is on my tongue
you, LORD, know it completely.
5 You hem me in behind and before,
and you lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.”
~Psalm 139

This entire psalm has been my one of my favorite passages for many years. I change and move, but God stays the same. I feel like I’m drifting aimlessly, or that situations are out of control, when throughout it all, God ties me to Himself. Sometimes I really fight this connection. I am rebellious, insensitive, selfish. I don’t say these in a self-deprecating manner, but rather, out of transparency. I see the value in grace when I recognize the broad scope of my own faults. How refreshing it is to understand better the Will of God, or to see His grace in my daily interactions! It teaches me humility, and the beauty of a spirit that understands that submission to God is an act of love in response to love. It gives me patience to wait out the engagement of Christ to the church, yet still look forward to that glorious marriage and eternal communion with God. I can’t wait! But in the meantime, I’ll work on spreading the word of the best day ever, and asking around to see if others want to come with me 😀

Leave a Reply

