Unless it begins with Him…

it’s not even worth trying. This is something I was reminded about during Monday morning prayer yesterday- something I’m going to get back into the habit of doing, even though it means a 6:35 bus since I can’t ride my bike on the snow and ice in the dark across campus around 7 in the morning. I had practicum last semester that prevented me from going… but now I don’t!

But listen- listen to the sincerity and truth in this Psalm. Think about what it means for a solid foundation. What it means to have any meaning at all.

Psalm 127

“1 Unless the LORD builds the house,
the builders labor in vain.
Unless the LORD watches over the city,
the guards stand watch in vain.
2 In vain you rise early
and stay up late,
toiling for food to eat—
for he grants sleep to[a] those he loves.

3 Children are a heritage from the LORD,
offspring a reward from him.
4 Like arrows in the hands of a warrior
are children born in one’s youth.
5 Blessed is the man
whose quiver is full of them.
They will not be put to shame
when they contend with their opponents in court.”

 

These are promises I want! The promise of sleep sounds unbelievable for a culture filled with workaholic weekend hedonists… and I can’t say I’m any different sometimes. But I am so glad God is watching over my life and that my work is not in vain. I got a text message from my high school friend the other day that said “don’t stop being a light.”

I got a facebook message last week from a wonderful woman I worked with at Bible camp in the Summer of 2007. 2007!! I was just graduated from high school then, and somehow one thing I said at one flag raising (morning devotion) stuck with her and reminded her what God’s love is.

Is there ANYTHING better than knowing that God, in His great mercy, out of all the foolish things I’ve said in my life, allowed my friend whom I haven’t talked with much since then, to remember only His Words?

I am blessed. God is amazing. And it really isn’t worth it at all without Him.

Leave a Reply

