Abide in Him.

What does that mean?
Ok, first read this chapter: John 15

Now what do you think? I’ve been thinking a lot about how we commune with God, and how we know that we are in relationship with Him. I’m not scared, but respectful about being in a right relationship with Him. I know He forgives me, but sometimes I don’t even take the time to examine myself to sort out what’s going on with me, and I do worry that it hinders my prayers.

Verses 5-7 say that we can do nothing apart from God. Did you hear that? NOTHING. Then it says that if we are apart from God, we are going to wither and die, and be no better than the brush we throw on the burn pile. I believe it. I can tell you I’d be there if I wasn’t hanging on to God. But what about how close I am to Him?

I often see the fruit from my relationship with God seasons later. I’m really okay with that because it’s like getting a birthday gift in July (my birthday’s in January). Who says no to random birthday gifts? Not this girl (most of the time, granted they’re actually gifts and not tools with which to bribe me).

But this is what stuck with me: “If you remain in Me and My words remain in you, ask whatever you want and it will be done for you. 8 My Father is glorified by this: that you produce much fruit and prove to be My disciples.” John 15:7-8

So… if I am remaining in God, being aligned with His Will, fed by His power, charged with His Word… I can ask whatever I want because God wants fruit to be born for His glory.

I want that. A lot.

Right now I’m practicing talking with Him to ask for areas of my life I need to straighten out or allow Him to fix. I’m taking a deep breath and trusting Him with everything. He doesn’t want me to fail. He loves me. He is my greatest good. I feel this is really possible. So here we go 🙂

I’d love to hear how you guys are doing in these areas also.

Love,
Rachel

P.S. I started my tutoring project this evening. I got the pastor of the korean united methodist church here in town- how cool is that?! Everyone else in class got ISU international students for this project, except for a classmate and I who got a pastor and his wife. Cool! Pray that God grants me the grace not to screw this up! This is my first legit pronunciation tutoring. So fun! Anyway, take care everyone!

One thought on “Abide in Him.

  1. Awesome post! Tonight a group of Veritas people were praying in the spirit of John 15, asking God to do things and then thanking him as if he’s already done them! My friend Chuck taught on how so many of David’s prayers in the Psalms are “future” oriented, where he praises God for deliverance even if he has not yet been delivered but in faith believes that God has promised it to him. We thanked God for the healings and salvation stories that we’re going to get to see this semester, and for the future leaders and teachers that are being raised up in our small groups. The theme of asking confidently in prayer has really been going around our church, and it’s cool to see the same spirit moving in Ames! It’s also humbling to think of how insignificant and doubtful so many of my prayers have been… I remember Lance challenging me that if I knew for 100% that whatever I asked, God was going to do, what would I ask for? At the time I couldn’t even think of anything!

    I just finished a really inspiring book on prayer called, “The Purple Pig and Other Miracles” by Dick Eastman. It’s basically one guy’s testimony of all the amazing things he saw God do during his lifetime because he simply asked him for them and remained faithful to the actions that God wanted him to take. Let me know if you want to borrow it!

    Keep praying big things! Jeremiah 33:3

Leave a Reply

