Post-Iowa City Anthem:

Renewed faith.

I definitely was bawling by the second song.

God’s presence was so strong. It washed away the insecurities and doubts I’ve had recently and reminded me of who I am.

It was so sweet seeing so many of my former ISU friends in a new setting, still loving God (sidenote: LOVED the feel of the venue).

Patience, peace, Love. Overwhelming, heart-rending, devastating and piercing love. It can never be undone, and the binding of my heart says redemption has begun. I can’t wait ’til it is finished, but in the meantime, I’ll keep working.

I’ve been reading through Hebrews the past couple of days. Reading it in the HCS was good because I saw the words anew and really enjoyed the background intro it gave. Basically, it’s a letter to encourage believers as to why they should continue being faithful in their relationship to God. Hebrews 3:7-11 referenced Psalm 95:7-11, which says:

For He is our God,
and we are the people of His pasture,
the sheep under His care.
Today, if you hear His voice:

8 “Do not harden your hearts as at Meribah,
as on that day at Massah in the wilderness

9 where your fathers tested Me;
they tried Me, though they had seen what I did.

10 For 40 years I was disgusted with that generation;
I said, ‘They are a people whose hearts go astray;
they do not know My ways. ‘

11 So I swore in My anger,
‘They will not enter My rest. ‘ ”

In Hebrews, this is followed by vs. 12-14:

12 Watch out, brothers, so that there won’t be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart that departs from the living God. 13 But encourage each other daily, while it is still called today , so that none of you is hardened by sin’s deception. 14 For we have become companions of the Messiah if we hold firmly until the end the reality that we had at the start. 15 As it is said:

Today, if you hear His voice,

do not harden your hearts as in the rebellion.

I really don’t have to say much except this is another time when what sounds most offensive is most encouraging to me. Does anyone else gain encouragement from the idea that if one is not faithful, God will not allow them to enter His rest? I seriously think I’m strange for liking sharp pointy biblical statements. Recently I listened to a Mark Driscoll sermon on “Marriage, ministry, and mistakes” and one thing he said about ministry was, it doesn’t matter how you begin ministry, but rather how you finish it. How will your last day here on earth be? Will you still be worshipping and serving God with your life?

Today- if you hear His voice, do not harden your hearts… do not challenge God after seeing all He has done in the span of your life; be thankful always, and encourage your brothers and sisters in Christ TODAY; don’t be overcome by the prevalent jadedness in this life.

Be thankful! Do not tire in doing good! Lose yourself in His love- it’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

