Snapshot

The soft acoustic picking of my cell phone alarm resonates my mind into fuzzy consciousness. It is 5:30 a.m. and I am awake. Mostly… hit the snooze…. again…. and roll out of bed. You would be amazed at how difficult it can be to select a t-shirt, even knowing that soon it will be covered in dirt, sweat, and corn dew, when one is at this stage of consciousness.

I grab some socks, clip on a white access card, and my keys. I barely glance in the mirror as I brush my hair upside down into a ponytail. I am mildly aware of a bump in my hair, and for some reason, this matters. I redo it, wash my face, and head for the door. It is 6 a.m.

The sun has just begun to stir, blinking and squinting its golden eye to a small sliver on the horizon, shooting bleary yet glorious scarlet rays as though one is seeing light through an eyelid. This halcyon hour of the early morning is my favorite. I think about it every day when I’m driving to breakfast before work. I am transfixed by its every projection on buildings and on trees and I secretly wish that somehow it would not end, and heaven would come to earth.

Take me where the sunrise means something.

These words come to mind and I realize that I am sometimes just world weary. But what also rises with the sun and my heart is the remembrance that, even in the small span of a day, we can choose to take God’s offer of new grace each day and follow Him (Lamentations 3:22-26).

Take a moment and consider this; God is outside of time because He created it and has complete control. As I was reminded last Sunday in church, God keeps his promises even when hundreds of years have passed here. His Word is trustworthy. Therefore, He promises such abundant love and grace that we are presented with a chance to start over and choose to love Him each day, as small of a fraction of eternity as it is. Our lives are the sum of our days.

C.S. Lewis discusses this thought quite beautifully in “The Great Divorce.” It is a very abstract piece to understand at first, but it is a difficult and complex topic to talk about in the first place. I would highly recommend reading it. Here’s just a snippet:

“[Mortals] say of some temporal suffering, ‘No future bliss can make up for it,’ not knowing Heaven, once attained, will work backwards and turn even that agony into a glory. And of some sinful pleasure they say ‘Let me have but this and I’ll take the consequences’: little dreaming how damnation will spread back and back into their past and contaminate the pleasure of the sin. Both processes begin even before death.”

So in this snapshot of your life- today;  for what or whom are you working?

I pray desperately for the grace to make the right decisions, the steadfast strength of God to overcome my weaknesses, and His love to reign on the throne of my heart. I have simply to make the choice.

(See also Judges 2; I read that this morning and was moved by how God promised success to Israel if they would set Him apart from other gods of the land they were about to take over. Those that did succeeded, and those who did not failed. Praise God that He loves us enough to be true to His Word, and that we have ample opportunity to succeed! God be with you as you make your journey today.)

Leave a Reply

