Life update + When Science Crosses the Line for Me

You know, I’ve written quite a bit lately, but most of it has been lesson plans. I’m taking on more responsibility with student teaching which equates to less time to sit and ponder my life. I also have been spending more time expressing myself through art and a really basic google site for my sophomores. Maybe I’ll post the link here in awhile; I want to make sure it’s not violating some vital teacher rule I haven’t considered.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how quickly life has moved for me in the past couple of years. There are so many people I won’t forget, and even though college never garnered that super-tight “in” group for me, I see it as more of an opportunity than detriment for my future. God always puts people in my life for me to love and learn from, and my willingness to enjoy new people in my life leads to so many opportunities that I wouldn’t have if I was too caught up in my own group. Plus, student teaching means I have little to no social life right now. 😦

Anyway, this morning at church we looked over Revelation 6-7. I have to tell you that sometimes I look at Revelation and I inwardly sigh and see mysteries that I’d much rather have happen than just listen to interpretations about. Sabeano was really good about pointing to the reaction of the people; they ran and hid in caves, rather than facing God. As His children, our response to terrifying things in our life should be to run to Him for comfort; not run away. I recognized that sometimes I feel guilty for deserving God’s wrath. I forget the value and meaning of Christ’s blood. I need to re-focus from time to time.

Part of that refocusing meant realizing that lately I’ve been a little discouraged by what I hear in the media about people and religion. I actually spent some time about a month ago researching some atheist opinions in an attempt to see what their experts were saying about Christianity these days. They do make some interesting points, but it’s always my interpretation that’s different. For instance, one expert said that humans were hard-wired to be “religious” because of natural selection; people who function better corporately survive. I agree, but not for the same reasons. I think God created us to desire to know Him, even though we often try to satiate that desire with a variety of pleasure-seeking tactics.

But the point that has really upset me is when scientists try to claim that God is a mental human construct as a means of greater survival. It spits in the face of the designer who created us and then told us how we’d be happiest because it literally is what we were made to do. Here is the article that claims otherwise. Read it for yourself and see what you think (and please let me know if you do- I’d love some more opinions!).

It’s upsetting and it really got me thinking. What always kills me is that I can understand this view to a certain extent. Yes, we should go beyond being “Christian buttheads” who just look at the world and say “God did it, I don’t need to know how,” but I also have a hard time believing people who say you have to take God out of the equation in order to have an objective view of the world. I get that science is important, and I think evolution happens (although not to the extent that most evolutionists claim), but it’s awful to look at the finer points of how the world works and then spit in the face of the one who made it by saying it was chance. And if you’re not going to acknowledge God, then please at least don’t try to tell me who created whom.

Leave a Reply

