Milestone: “So Long Sweet Summer”

I just had a former camper from 2 summers ago ask if I was coming back this summer.

Cue floods of nostalgia and literally over a year and a half total time of being at camp and the unofficial staff goodbye song, “So Long, Sweet Summer” by Dashboard Confessional.

But I’m getting married and moving onward! Although, for the record, I do have to say I don’t think I’d go back as a counselor even if I were available; but maybe tag team girl leader (mentor to the group of high school volunteers for the summer).

But oh, how I will miss you, cabin Deborah:

(Items of note: my camp bedding, the green mug borrowed from the kitchen, and super points if you know the title of the small book on the right that was Salt leader reading one summer).

Oh, yes: Wrapping paper made wallpaper panels, a spunky polynesian theme, homemade wands for the little little girls in a water bottle on the left, and the back door that kept falling apart.

My lockbox.

The lockbox used for keeping items safe for/from campers (such as my cell phone, allergy meds, CDs for my dream machine alarm clock) and wonderful display for prayer cards, postcards, band bumper stickers, and other memorabilia.

My closet.

A reminder of what it means to truly live simply. (sidenote: yes, that is a cane in my closet; we had old people’s night a few times that summer).

"Words to live by"

I sometimes had campers write down their favorite verses to add to this display. It was really sweet to see what verses they were working on memorizing. I saved a few of them.

One of our many cabin flags we made on a weekly basis.

This was one of my favorites. I had a lot of campers’ artwork up on the walls, but tried not to use photos with full names in them for their privacy.

This is probably more than you wanted to see, but this place was home for three summers of camp counseling. It quite literally changed my life and helped me to find my passion for working with youth.

What a blessing 🙂

P.S. I won’t make you watch the video of my cabin I took on my last night there haha

Leave a Reply

