Voicemail

I need to change my voicemail. It is literally the same recording I have had since I bought my first phone at age 18. 

It’s not particularly funny or witty, but just, “Hey, it’s Rachel. I can’t answer my phone right now, please leave a message!”

It’s on the phone so I don’t think I sound super great, but still, I haven’t changed it, even when I got a new phone or was lectured about the dangers of an inappropriate voicemail. 

I don’t remember where I was when I recorded it, nor is there any sentiment attached to what was going on in my life right then, but I still haven’t changed it in 5 years. 

In that time, I have gone to college, switched my major once, roommates 7 times, boyfriends 5 times, found a lifelong passion for teaching, gained a fiance, a diploma, a teaching license, a part-time grown up job requiring said teaching license, all while God has graciously kept a hand on my life. Really, a voicemail message pales in comparison, but still it’s there. 

Maybe I want to preserve my 18 year old self in some form, if only to remember where I have been and where I am now. Maybe I’m just lazy. Maybe it’s that small sentimental portion of me that used to save tokens of significant moments in my life. Maybe I’m making excuses. 

I need to change my voicemail. I just don’t know if I want to. 

Leave a Reply

