I AM BACK!

Hello World! I have decided to resume my own blogging because there are some issues that just can’t be covered in my other blogs. My hiatus from this one was for a variety of reasons (oh, you know, getting married, moving, moving again, working a lot, moving out of state….), but I think it’s time to start again. Despite trying to sit down to write this post three times, I’m going to finish it this time!

Things I have learned about myself in the past year:

  1. I am not always the best roommate in regards to using the time I have. In fact, the busier I am, the better my productivity. It’s weird, but if I have a whole day to do things… I’m less likely to get them done. I’m working on this.
  2. The people you hurt the most are also often the ones least likely to address the situation. Sometimes you don’t have the option of being able to work things out with them, so you have to admit you were wrong as much as you can, love them, ask for forgiveness, and respect their wishes as soon as you find out. This is really hard.
  3. I think I make awful first impressions.  I have a lot of anxiety about friendships/other relationships (although not my relationship with Chris). The majority of the time this stems from God not being where I put my trust. I’ve been sorting out a lot of feelings about important relationships in my life and still don’t have an answer for how I should respond to some situations.
  4. I don’t reflect on life, errors, and triumphs very well unless I write them down. Often it is in the process of writing that I figure things out.
  5. I still really want to be a teacher. I’m currently subbing for a local private school down here and have applied for over 10 teaching positions. Cue impatience for waiting for responses/interviews/employment. I am trying to mentally prepare myself for a year or two more of subbing if necessary. I’m sure I’ll talk a lot about this. I’m working on developing a teaching blog.

*How Chris & I adventured in Arkansas this weekend:

  1. Took walks Friday, Saturday, and today! The one today took us at least a couple miles farther than we thought it would, so I have some massive blisters from my flip-flops 😦 What’s really cool about the city we live in is the biking/walking/running trails that can take you almost anywhere you want to go.
  2. Went to the local Farmer’s Market on Saturday and finally figured out where the square was (I keep getting lost downtown since few of the streets go through all the way). We bought our Mother’s Day gifts for both of our mothers and browsed some cute shops too.
  3. Had a living room picnic since my allergies were making me miserable at this point.
  4. Took a chance on a local Renaissance Faire (located practically in our back yard so we walked), saw some interesting demonstrations, and caught a show by a Kansas City-based tumbler/comedian who balanced things, played with fire, and kept us laughing for about an hour. We’re not sure we could get into the role-playing, but it was fun and different.
  5. Watched the British movie,  An Education, in our living room (compliments of the public library) and thought it was quite good.

*This list is going in our other blog, so don’t be surprised to see it there 🙂

 

In other news, I just have to say that I am largely disappointed with facebook posts/tweets/and/or other displays of opinions concerning gay marriage. If you would like to know what I think, I’d be happy to have a conversation with you, but I feel as though many posts of opinions are unwarranted and not in the spirit of developing one’s perspective in order to better understand the views and fears of both sides.

Goals for this week:

  • Go running/do yoga at least 4 days this week.
  • Spend time with God every day
  • Clean the fishbowl tomorrow (Monday)- oh yes, we got a fish. His name is Brisingr and he is a beta (any Christopher Paolini fans out there?).
  • Finish the laundry before my grandparents get here on Friday.
  • Pray for the classes I’ll be teaching each day.

 

Leave a Reply

