Some Happy Thoughts!

Chris and I had a wonderful weekend in Branson! I’ll be posting on our married blog about that, probably closer to our actual anniversary (it’s almost here!). It really recharged and refocused us on what was important and how the tough times we’re having now are 1)not that bad and 2)temporary. 

Chris also didn’t have to leave until today this week! I got two extra evenings with him, which means just two away from him this week! What a gift! He is still having a hard time with work, but I am praying it grows him in things like patience, flexibility, and reliance on God for his strength. I am so glad I can support him emotionally and with things like housework and meals while he is working so hard and I am studying this summer. I think it is definitely growing us closer together as a couple which is reason enough to praise God for the hard things in life. 

I got to help teach an ESL class at the skills center through our church and had a fun time meeting a lovely woman who knew about as much English as I do Spanish! Lo siento, mi amiga! We drew pictures and named things in Spanish and English. It really warms my heart to be able to share my time and passions with others! 

I’ve been able to reconnect with some friends from home and check in with their lives. Recently, I’ve made it a goal to try and be more caring in my relationships. My mother has mastered the art of friendly conversation, but I tend to be very pragmatic and less chatty, so sometimes I need to remember to love more like God loves me. 

I’ve been trying to eat more fresh veggies and things that are good for me the past couple of weeks (okay, so anniversary weekend was exempt and it was delicious). I found an excellent Bok Choy Tofu dish that Chris and I both love, and last night we tried Kale for the first time in some spaghetti with parmesan and lemon juice. I’ve cut down on some of my dairy (I love CHEESE) and switched to Greek honey flavored yogurt. Yum! Additionally, I got some Chia seeds and really like them in refrigerator oatmeal or a couple tablespoons in a cup of almond milk for a quick and tasty pudding! Switching up my diet has made eating well much more enjoyable and interesting.

Speaking of taking care of myself, I went for a run this morning and didn’t have to stop at all! It was probably only around a mile, but it was only possible because I’m on generic cingulair in addition to clairitin-d. The former is a drug usually used for asthma sufferers, but in my case it’s just because my allergies make it difficult to breathe. According to my new doc here, allergies are the worst they’ve been in a decade. I felt very blessed to find a doctor who agrees with my “allergy drugs only as needed” philosophy as well as offering a way to help me breathe without having to resort to allergy shots. I really do hate shots, especially since I found out I’m a fainter 😦

Also, I just got off the phone with my husband, and there might be an opportunity for me to work part-time at the same lab he does but with another Doctor (main researcher). I don’t know if it’ll work out, but I would love to work in agriculture again! I miss the USDA!

I hope you have a wonderful week! I’m enjoying mine a whole lot more already!

Leave a Reply

