The Paradoxes of Christianity

7 Now with the voice of truth and power of God—armed on the right and armed on the left with righteousnessfrom God—we continue. 8 Whether respected or loathed, praised or criticized as frauds, yet true, 9 as unknown to this world, and yet well known to God, we serve Him. We are treated as dying and yet we live, as punished and yet we are not executed.10 Though we are sorrowful, we continually rejoice. As the poorest of the poor, we bring richness to all, and though we have nothing, we possess all things.

2 Corinthians 6:7-10

First of all, please bear in mind that this will barely broach the subject of all paradoxes. I’m not a trained theologian, but I am a trained English teacher, so the analyzation skills are there, even if it’s not my forte. Let me preface this also by saying that I am a person who is bad at finding a happy medium sometimes.

I tend to be very passionate in that my heart is either in something or it’s not; I can be very upset or very happy. I don’t like people who can’t find reasons to make a decision one way or another. If I’m unhappy, I want to change something right now to alleviate the situation.

God’s way is different. He asks us to live day-by-day, yet set our sights on eternity. He wants us to see people for who they are, yet also see them as He sees them. He wants us to be fair and firm in our beliefs, but not legalistic or cold. He wants us to have compassion for others, but also know when to walk away.

None of these things are easy. Following God’s design for life is not easy, but easy was not promised. The worth of the gospel and the gravity of how much He loves us is both promised and reiterated. Sometimes I really do want to throw in the towel. I’m frustrated and unhappy, but I know it’ll pass, and I’ve repeatedly seen God come through. I need to stop worrying so much and embrace how life is sweet and sour all over, while looking forward to the day sour is eliminated. I don’t have to be a super happy person all the time; I just need to hold onto my faith in the hope we have in Christ. If the disciples can say, “Though we are sorrowful, we continually rejoice,” so can I.

Leave a Reply

