Sweet 2016!

Nothing says New Year’s celebration like a gimmicky moniker! I just read last year’s post, and I’m pleased to inform the general public that I am slightly less jazzed and have noticed a shift in this first year north of 25.

In keeping with jazzed Rachel’s spirit of tradition and improvement, here are 15 things total about 2015.

5 Things I did this year:

  1. We bought a house 🙂 I cannot extol the benefits of breathing room and adequate windows enough!
  2. I traveled on a train for the first time from Iowa to Chicago to see my dear friend Peggy and her family.
  3. I was a personal attendant in my brother-in-law’s wedding (and Chris was a groomsman). We are thrilled to have another girl in the family!
  4. I went to Florida twice (in August and December, the same as last year)
  5. Joined a gym. Now I need to start going again haha…

5 Realizations:

  1. It is so important to make time in marriage to catch up on business (both financially and emotionally). I need to say what I need to say.
  2. My husband is still amazing. He takes care of me when I’m sick, always wants to problem solve and move forward, helps clean the house (especially during the school year when I’m swamped), figures out how to financially coordinate our incomes to get a house despite my doubts, and impresses me with his diligence and humility. He earned his Masters degree this year, but took it in stride and will not be walking until his doctorate in a couple of years. I love him more deeply daily.
  3. Overall, this past year has just seemed like a difficult season for me and moreover, for many of my friends. What encourages me, however, is that it is often these times that lead to greater growth. I am looking forward to that and patiently pressing onward.
  4. I work with some interesting and awesome people! I love my teacher tribe at SHS! It is great to know people who have your back and are willing to help out in times of trouble. In many ways, my co-workers have been virtually my best friends in Arkansas because they are friendly, loyal, and hilarious.
  5.  Chris also works with some awesome people! What a blessing it is to have co-workers (and their significant others) who are in the “We’re all still in school/grad. school and not having kids yet” stage of life. We are so looking forward to traveling together for an upcoming conference!

5 Goals for 2016:

  1. Live in the now. Accept each day and make the hours work for me. This means making time to accomplish chores, working out, planning things for others by strategic living. It is not an accident that I woke up alive today.
  2. Stop saying dumb things. Easily said, difficult to attain.
  3. Start saying more things when they matter to me. I’m surprisingly adept at being stunned into silence when overwhelmed.
  4. Hit the gym, but don’t be shocked that I’m not 20 anymore. I’m still doing great, but healthier eating/muscles are always a plus.
  5. Grow a garden and master basic home canning. Come at me, backyard!
Leave a Reply

