Gatsby Green

I’m teaching this novel right now, and Thursday is St. Patrick’s Day, so all these random thoughts in my head seem significant and connected.

Gatsby Green: is it money? Is it the evasive light at the end of the dock?

I am green with envy. But all I can think of is that I don’t want to live a life that is overwrought by my expectations. I am not willing to sacrifice my personal integrity in pursuit of ill-gotten gains. I am not willing to pin my hopes on the ephemeral.

A little less cryptically, I have been thinking a lot about how often things that we intend for good become corrupt when we are reckless in our pursuit of them. But I am so passionate that I tend to run toward everything when I need a good marathon pace.

Ironically enough, I have been running toward everything but Christ lately. Sometimes it’s a simple track like this that is enough to slow me down and help me focus: https://soundcloud.com/olivia-mckinstry/transfixed

Truly, apart from the Lord I have no good thing. Green is also symbolic of growth; it is springtime when things leave dormancy and come alive.

Psalm 16

Protect me, God, for I take refuge in You.
I[a] said to Yahweh, “You are my Lord;
I have nothing good besides You.”[b]

The sorrows of those who take another god
for themselves will multiply;

Lord, You are my portion[c]
and my cup of blessing;
You hold my future.
The boundary lines have fallen for me
in pleasant places;
indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.

Leave a Reply

