Spring

Then the Lord said to Cain, ‘Why are you furious? And why do you look despondent? If you do what is right won’t you be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at the door, its desire is for you, but you must rule over it.’ -Genesis 4:6-7

This verse has been written on my heart lately. In my latest season of winter, I have been furious and despondent in seeing how others flourished when I did not, despite knowing full well that I was not doing what is right.

Sometimes moving toward spring is slow. You would think a native Iowan (even southern transplanted) would know about this. It does not happen overnight. I began by trying to read the Bible again. I am really bad at it.

But I’ve kept on crawling toward God’s Word. This passage was from the first day I tried again, and it showed up today in my reading app as well (I’m going through the latest series from http://www.shereadstruth.com).

Today was the first moment of clarity I’ve had in a long time. It is as though many pieces were revealed to me at the same time. There are still so many things in life that are chaotic, concerning, and irritating, but there is a peace beyond it all that has spoken to me once more.

Here is to hoping for many more springs and moments of clarity to come.

Leave a Reply

