34 Weeks and Counting!

I am so excited we hit that 33 week goal and are moving on! The next few weeks will be a little nuts as we aren’t quite sure when/how he will arrive, but I think that’s what happens to most first time parents.

I have another OB appointment tomorrow, and then I’ll have one last growth scan on the 12th which will determine if my placenta has moved out of the way enough to attempt a vaginal birth (you know, or if my baby is sitting transverse or something like that hahaha, but seriously I’m praying he’s not), or if we will need to schedule a c-section.

Let’s make some lists, because lists are fun!

5 things we are doing now to prepare for baby boy:

  • Washing ALL OF THE BABY THINGS! Clothes, blankets, sterilizing things, etc.
  • Taking minimal classes! We did the American Red Cross online certification for child/infant/adult first aid/CPR/AED. We have both been certified repeatedly, but Chris hadn’t done infants before, and I haven’t been infant certified since being a camp counselor. The online version is great if you have been certified before; if not, do the in person training! We also signed up for a one-day childbirth basics class through our hospital, but it was canceled last minute yesterday (Saturday). We may see if they offer the baby boot camp class soon as it covers more newborn care.
  • Repacking the hospital bag (this was done super early after I came home from the hospital at 28 weeks as I was determined to be prepared after that).
  • Figuring out what purchases still need to be made and what we’ll wait on due to the  likelihood of relocating somewhere by the end of the year.
  • Trying to read enough information to have an informed opinion on all things related to birth and newborn care. There is so much we don’t know! Ahhhh!

 

5 shows I’ve been watching or rewatching (because modified bed rest):

  • Game of Thrones (rewatch; debating on reading the books)
  • ER- never watched this one before. It’s on Hulu!
  • Gilmore Girls (rewatch)
  • Master Chef Junior- because who doesn’t like Gordon Ramsey being nice to kids?
  • The Resident- new medical show. Yes, I have a problem. I also like Grey’s, Chicago Med., and The Good Doctor).

 

10 foods/snacks I enjoy on my diet for borderline GD:

  • Parmesan Crisps- they are chips of cheese! See salad toppings aisle.
  • Dark chocolate- we’re talking 70%+ is my favorite after-dinner treat
  • Cheese sticks
  • apples with peanut or almond butter
  • Nuts. Lots of nuts.
  • Unwich- turkey, mayo, and veggies, all wrapped in cheese instead of carbs.
  • 1/2 PB & J… because it’s a classic
  • Veggie Straws! I can have a lot of these for very few carbs
  • Justin’s Almond Butter/whole wheat pretzel snacks
  • Plain unsweetened Greek yogurt with fresh fruit in it.

 

5 Beverages I drink now:

  • Protein shakes: Premier protein, Atkins protein, Svelte Coffee protein, and occasionally Syntha-6 protein (what I drank when I was weight training 5 days/week pre-pregnancy)
  • Toasted Coconut and Almond Milk from Kalifa farms; delicious!
  • Iced Tea! I like citrus green tea, or teas with lemon and ginger brewed strongly and poured over ice.
  • Natural Calm Magnesium- always great for immune and digestive health, as well as general calm (recommended by OB early on)
  • half caff or decaf coffee. I didn’t have any until the end of the 2nd trimester. I am of the opinion that one cup a day won’t kill me.